Staff Changes Coming For Deal’s Second Term

Former State Senator Jim Butterworth, now head of Georgia’s National Guard, will be assuming control of Georgia’s Emergency Management Agency, according to the AJC’s Political Insider Team.  Charley English, the agency’s current director, will step back into a Deputy Director role.

A 5pm press release details significant other changes:

Maj. Gen. Jim Butterworth will become the director of the Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) effective in January. Butterworth will replace Charley English, who will assume the position of deputy director of GEMA. The governor has also tapped Brig. Gen. Joe Jarrard, current assistant adjutant general of the Georgia Department of Defense, to serve as the adjutant general of Georgia effective in January.

Camila Knowles, current chief of staff for U.S. Senator Saxby Chambliss, has been nominated, pending board approval, to be the commissioner for the Department of Community Affairs effective in January. Knowles is replacing Gretchen Corbin, who has been nominated by Deal, pending board approval, as the commissioner of the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) effective upon Commissioner Ron Jackson’s retirement in January. Matt Arthur, current director for education reform for the Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget, will serve as deputy commissioner of TCSG. Dr. Susan Andrews, current deputy superintendent of Race to the Top at the Georgia Department of Education, has been tapped to replace Arthur.

Deal also nominated Tricia Chastain, current associate vice-president for government relations for the University of Georgia, pending board approval, as president of the Georgia Student Finance Commission (GSFC). Chastain will replace Tracy Ireland, who has taken a position with the University System of Georgia as vice-chancellor of student enrollment services effective in January. Toby Carr, current planning director of the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT), will replace Chastain with the University System of Georgia as the associate vice-president for government relations and director of state government relations. Corinna Robinson, current Disability Services Ombudsman and Olmstead Coordinator for Deal, has been appointed to be the executive director of the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission. Robinson is replacing Bill Crews, who will be retiring on December 31.

Christopher Tomlinson, current executive director of the State Road and Tollway Authority (SRTA) has been nominated by Deal, pending board approval, to serve as the executive director of the Georgia Regional Transportation Authority in addition to his duties at SRTA. Russell McMurry, presently serving as chief engineer at GDOT, has been appointed as planning director of GDOT subject to approval by a majority vote of both the House Transportation Committee and the Senate Transportation Committee.

Amy Jacobs, interim director of the Department of Early Care and Learning (DECAL), and Bobby Cagle, interim director of the Division of Family and Children Services (DFCS), will remain in their positions full-time effective immediately. To streamline the review process and efficiently evaluate recommendations, DFCS will continue to report directly to the Governor’s Office.

“Each of these high caliber individuals has contributed their expertise and counsel in order to make Georgia a better place to live, work and raise a family,” said Deal. “As they assume their new positions and responsibilities, I’m confident that they will continue to serve our state well. I cannot thank them enough for service and dedication to Georgia and its citizens.”

Biographies on each of the appointees can be found here.


Comments are closed.