New Committee Chairs Announced

Yesterday the House Committee on Assignments announced four new Chairmannships.  Two vacancies in Committee Chairmanships were created when Jay Neal (Chair of the State Properties committee) resigned to work for Governor Deal and with the untimely passing of Calvin Hill (Chair of the Code Revision committee). In addition Chuck Sims resigned his Chairmanship of the Intragovernmental Coordination committee, which handles local legislation.

According to a document released by the Speaker’s Office yesterday, the new Committee Chairs are:

David Casas (R-Lilburn), Chair of the Code Revision committee.
Mike Cheokas (R-Americus), Chair of the Information and Audits committee.
Barbara Sims (R – Augusta), moves from being Chair of the Information and Audits committee to become Chair of the State Properties committee.
Jan Tankersley (R – Brooklet), Chair of the Intragovernmental Coordination committee.

Casas, Cheokas, and Tankersley are first time Chairs. Congratulations to one and all. Also of note is that Jan Tankersley becomes the first Chair from my sophomore class. Well done Madame Chair.

Other commmittee shuffling took place, which I won’t mention for fear of overlooking someone. Feel free to scan the complete list of House committee assignments here (pdf).


    • Charlie says:

      Via Press Release:

      ATLANTA (January 10, 2014) | Sen. Brandon Beach (R- Alpharetta) has been named Chairman of the Senate Science and Technology Committee for the 2013- 2014 legislative term by the Senate Committee on Assignments.

      “I am honored to be selected as Chairman of the Science and Technology Committee,” said Sen. Beach. “As we continue to grow Georgia’s economy, we need to be passing pro-business legislation that retains and attracts cutting edge technology companies that will continue to produce innovative products and create new jobs.”

      The Science and Technology Committee’s jurisdiction includes all areas influencing the promotion and restraint of today’s technology and science as a result of the legislation placed upon it.

      “We are fortunate to have a wealth of talent and experience in the State Senate,” said President Pro Tem David Shafer (R-Duluth). “I have every confidence in Sen. Beach and the rest of our committee leadership team.”

      Once a piece of legislation is introduced in the Senate, it is assigned to a Committee, depending on its topic. If the Committee gives the legislation a “do pass” recommendation, then the proposed law is sent to the Rules Committee for consideration. The appointed chairs will oversee the operation and order of Senate committee meetings, including calling for action on bills, resolutions or other matters assigned to that committee.

      The second term of the 152nd Legislative Session of the Georgia General Assembly convened January 13, 2014 at the Georgia State Capitol.

  1. ricstewart says:

    Congrats to my friend and state representative, Jan Tankersley. She’ll do a great job as chair of Intragovernmental Coordination

Comments are closed.