Paul Broun Campaign Contest: Name The Other Six Counties!

Paul Broun 165Paul Broun’s campaign this afternoon decided to proudly announce that they are organized in all of Georgia’s 165 counties.

Wait. What?

Lori Geary was kind enough to post the announcement to twitter, which you can see to the left.

Now, I know what some of you are thinking.  This is just a lie from the pit of Hell.  But, maybe not.  Perhaps there really are 6 more counties in Georgia, and they’ve been kept a secret all this time.

Regardless, Congressman Broun will need 6 names to help him finish his list of the 165 counties he’s organized.  So readers, here’s your chance to help Georgia evolve into a 165 county state.  What are the best names for our 6 new counties?

I’ll start:

Milton, Dunwoody, East Cobb, Danbeckerstan, Lake Spivey,  and Israel.

Now your turn. Go:



  1. anthonymkreis says:

    Easy: The southern half of Whitfield County, nudged between Walker and Murray counties, is a natural spot for Richt County.

  2. NorthGAGOP says:

    These statewide races are hard. Maybe Broun can give Barge spelling lessons, and Barge can teach Broun how read or count.

  3. northside101 says:

    How about lets go international and add places like Vale, Tblisi, Telavi, Tsnovi, Govi and Mestia? They might be hard to pronounce and spell, which is understandable given they are cities in the “other” Georgia halfway around the world………

  4. Ellynn says:

    *North Bryan County, and rename the other half of Bryan County – South Bryan County. They all ready function like two counties since Steward cuts them in half.
    *Mamanthems County – I have yet to find it, but I hear my coworker go there a lot on the weekends
    *SEC County
    *Eggs County (carved out of Bacon County) Their public school mascots can be “Scrambled” and Strips”
    *Pecan County – I like pecans.

    and Denial County; with the seat being named “Crazytown”, so we have a place where “they” can be all together and leave the rest of us alone.

  5. benevolus says:

    OK I’ll do it:

    1. Have County
    2. Not County
    3. Been County
    4. Sworn County
    5. In County
    6. Yet County

  6. Dave Bearse says:

    Milton has been mentioned, but Campbell County has not. I’ve seen Spaulding County on an old Georgia map.

    I’m yet three short. Maybe Broun’s counts Athens-Clarke, Augusta-Richmond and Columbus-Muscogee as counties.

    • Jon Lester says:

      I remembered Campbell County, too, having seen the map at the Fulton County courthouse.

      Some folks in Lake Oconee want that area to secede from Greene and Putnam.

      And there’s the fictional Hartwell County from “The Color Purple.”

  7. Engineer says:

    Yeah, as soon as I saw “165 counties”, Milton County was one of the first things that popped in my head.

  8. raharkne says:

    I’ve always favored Crisp, Bacon and Coffee Counties in south Georgia. Why not add Creamy, Grits, Butter, Cheddar, Omelet and Quiche Counties?

  9. drjay says:

    maybe they are just so very organized that they have gone ahead and hit some of the border counties like aiken, edgefield, jasper, barnwell, mcormick, and allendale just to be sure…

    • John Vestal says:

      Along those lines, I seem to recall stories of an original movement to name the dam creating Lake Lanier after Bobby Dodd, who had recently won another National Championship for the Jackets in ’52.

      Sadly, the notion of the name, “Dodd Dam”, reportedly upset the delicate sensibilities of some of those involved. :>)

  10. JeffHaffley says:

    (Thomas W.) Hardwick County
    (Carl) Sanders County
    (Martin Luther) King County
    (Larry) McDonald County
    (Zell) Miller County
    (Paul) Coverdell County

    • Dave Bearse says:

      Georgia’s current Miller County is named for Judge Andrew J. Miller that introduced legislation that gave married women separate property rights.

  11. Will Durant says:


    and 3 more just for good measure:


Comments are closed.