Qualifying Ends for Three Georgia House Seats and One Georgia Senate Seat

Qualifying has concluded for special elections to fill vacancies in three Georgia House districts and one Georgia Senate District. The non-partisan election will be held on November 5th. See who and where below the fold.

In Senate District 14 located in Bartow, Cherokee and Cobb counties, Barry Loudermilk resigned in order to run for the 11th Congressional seat vacated by Phil Gingrey. Vying to replace him are 42 year old Nicole Ebbeskotte, former Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office Public Information Officer from Woodstock, Matt Laughridge, 25, a Cartersville business owner, 53 year old Dwight Pullen, an educator from Canton, Dean Sheridan, 51, a managing partner from Woodstock and Bruce Thompson, a 48 year old insurance agency owner. All five are Republicans. In addition, Christopher Smith, a Democrat from Adairsville qualified late Wednesday morning.

The new representative for House District 100, located in southern Gwinnett County between Lilburn and Norcross, has already been decided, as Dewey McClain of Lilburn was the only person to qualify to run. McClain, a 59 year old Democrat, will fill the seat vacated by Democrat Brian Thomas, who resigned to move to Maine. McClain is a former Atlanta Falcon and president of the Atlanta North Georgia Labor Council AFL-CIO, and was widely expected to run.

Four people are in the race to replace Donna Sheldon in House District 104 after she resigned to run for the 10th Congressional district seat vacated by Paul Broun. Teresa Cantrell of Dacula, a 53 year old business owner and former Gwinnett County planning commissioner, 30 year old lawyer and past Gwinnett GOP Chair Chuck Efstration of Auburn, Former Dacula postmaster Tim Puckett, 61, and Todd Tyson, a 51 year old business owner. All four are running as Republicans.

In House District 127, southwest of Augusta, three candidates, all Democrats, are running to fill the seat vacated by the late Quincy Murphy, who passed away early in August. 52 year old Diane Evans of Avera is a retired educator and chair of the Jefferson County Democratic Party. Dianne Murphy, wife of Rep. Murphy, is a 61 year old educator, and Brian Prince, 49, is retired from the military.

Let the campaigning begin!

Disclosure: I am the treasurer for the Chuck Efstration campaign.


  1. Anyone But Chip says:

    I believe the Democratic candidate for State Senate District 14 is Christopher “Roscoe Beardsley” Nesmith. What a wonderful collection of candidates this appealing seat has produced.

      • Anyone But Chip says:

        That’s the last thing we need. Although if it helped to uncover the truth of why he actually resigned and it put him in our rear view mirror for good it would be worth it. At this point I feel like we are 1:15 minutes into a horror film and everybody’s waiting for the bad guy to pop out of the closet.

        As fort the race, it’s a real cast of characters who are mostly defined by incompetence (with a notable exception) and a lack of personal fiscal responsibility and moral character.

        Get ready for a big dose of the facts being portrayed by several of these candidates as malicious character assassination as well as a sprinkling of “Do as I say, not as I do” and a dab of “I’ve learned from that mistake”.

        And as always, the voters in Cherokee (and Bartow & Cobb) will be blissfully ignorant of who these people actually are and what they stand for but will gladly pull a lever because some Tea Party blast says he/she is a “Favorite”.

Comments are closed.