Special Election Mania

Four notable special elections are taking place today in different corners of the state. Polls close at 7.

SENATE 21 (Fulton and Cherokee)

Brandon Beach and Sean Jerguson are contesting Chip “Will-the-Winner” Rogers’ former Senate seat. Both candidates have relied on a geographic base of support. Beach’s home county of Fulton makes up less than 25% of voters in the district, though he has done a pretty good job of earning endorsements in the Cherokee area. Jerguson should be helped by the fact that he had to vacate his House seat, thus driving up turnout in his home area.

Beach has been blasting Jerguson for voting to put the TSplost on the ballot. The TSplost seems to have become the zombie that opposing political consultants continue to resurrect.

HOUSE SEAT 21 (Cherokee County)

House 21 is the seat vacated by Jerguson. On the ballot are three Republicans: yard sign magnate Brian Laurens, former anti-Jerguson candidate Scot Turner, and Kenneth Mimbs. Democrat punchline Nathalie Bergeron is making sure no Republican is safe by running from the Left.

SENATE DISTRICT 11 (Southwest Georgia)

State Senator John Bulloch resigned his seat to focus on his health. He was a great leader for Southwest Georgia.

Republicans Marshall Berman, Dr. Dean Burke, Brad Hughes, Mike Keown and Eugene McNease are contesting the election. Libertarian Jeffery Bivins is in the mix, Democrat Lisa Collins somewhat oddly dropped out days after qualifying ended.

SENATE DISTRICT 30 (Carroll, Douglas and Paulding Counties)

Senator-elect will be the title bestowed upon Republican Mike Dugan tonight. He earned the Republican nomination over former Rep. Bill Hembree (and former Speaker Glenn Richardson) by relying on a strong base of support in Carroll County. Dugan is facing Libertarian James Camp in the election today.  No Democrat is running.


  1. Update: Brandon Beach wins Senate 21

    Dr. Dean Burke currently leads the field in Senate District 11 (Southwest Georgia). He and Mike Keown will go to a runoff.

    Mike Dugan is now Senator-elect Mike Dugan for Senate 30.

    House 21: Scot Turner and Brian Laurens to meet in a runoff in a few weeks. Turner led 46-30%.

Comments are closed.