Conservationists Seem Happy With Election Results

From a Georgia Conservation Voters press release today:

ATLANTA – Georgia Conservation Voters (GCV) heralded yesterday’s primary election outcomes as a significant victory for Georgia’s environment. GCV-backed conservation leaders won 12 of 13 targeted General Assembly and Public Service Commission races, including five Republicans and seven Democrats.

“These victories indicate that conservation issues are on the minds of Georgia voters,” observed Chris Osborne, Georgia Conservation Voters Executive Director. “Georgians are increasingly concerned about the quality of life for their families and future generations and are looking to support candidates who share their conservation values.”

Among GCV’s notable victories from Tuesday:

* Jeff Chapman won re-election in Senate District 2 despite being outspent by his opponent, a wealthy Glynn County developer. At the General Assembly, Sen. Chapman took the lead in promoting responsible revitalization of Jekyll Island State Park and in keeping commercial development off Jekyll Island’s remaining open beach front.

* Rick Austin won the open seat in House District 10. Representative-elect Austin is a Habersham County Commissioner and Biology professor at Piedmont College. With his science background and experience in local politics, Dr. Austin has demonstrated his interest in solving Georgia’s water challenges while supporting transportation and clean energy solutions.

* Jim Powell won the Democratic nomination for Public Service Commission, District 4. With decades of experience at the U.S. Department of Energy, Mr. Powell is ready to take action to reduce energy prices through energy efficiency and promoting a more diverse mix of sources of energy.

Georgia Conservation Voters holds elected officials accountable for their conservation records and evaluates candidates based on questionnaires, interviews, voting records, campaign viability and experience. GCV does not endorse in all races.

List of 2008 Primary Endorsements:

Public Service Commission

District 4: Pam Davidson (R) – LOSS

District 4: Jim Powell (D) – WIN


District 2: Lester Jackson (D) – WIN

District 3: Jeff Chapman (R) – WIN

District 12: Freddie Powell Sims (D) – WIN

District 36: Nan Orrock (D) – WIN

District 46: Bill Cowsert (R) – WIN, will face challenger in November


District 10: Rick Austin (R) – WIN

District 44: Sheila Jones (D) – WIN, will face challenger in November

District 59: Margaret Kaiser (D) – WIN

District 66: Virgil Fludd (D) – WIN

District 98: Bobby Reese (R) – WIN

District 177: Mark Hatfield (R) – WIN, will face challenger in November